Follow Us


September 9, 2010

Vote for the Capital One Mascot of the Year

As the baseball season nears its conclusion and the pennant races are in full football season has already kicked off (see what I did there?) in grand fashion.

Of course, now would be the time in this post where I should reference some of the games from this past weekend, mention my current winning streak on my well-worn copy of College Football 2k6 or, since this is a baseball blog, bring up my affinity for San Diego's Swinging Friat mascot.

But comes the pitch on how you (yes, YOU!) can help Capital One determine its National Mascot of the Year.

Here’s how it works.

The Mascot of the Year is determined through fan voting each week at There are 12 weekly head-to-head match ups.

The mascots with the best win/loss records face off in online playoffs starting November 22, and the winner will be pronounced Capital One National Mascot of the Year on January 1 during the Capital One Bowl.

Each participating school’s mascot receives $5,000 for its university mascot program, and the Mascot of the Year receives an additional $15,000 scholarship to help fund its school’s mascot program.

This year the field includes:

Joe Bruin of UCLA
Bearcat of the University of Cincinnati
Joe Vandal of the University of Idaho
Mike the Tiger of LSU
Testudo of the University of Maryland
Sebastian the Ibis of the University of Miami
Goldy Gopher of the University of Minnesota
Monte of the University of Montana
Brutus Buckeye of The Ohio State University
Big Blue of Old Dominion University
Duck of the University of Oregon
Smokey of the University of Tennessee
Paydirt Pete of the University of Texas El Paso
The Bird of the U.S. Air Force Academy
Mr. C of Vanderbilt University
Big Red of Western Kentucky University

The United Coalition of College Mascots is praising the whole ordeal as well.

So there you this video and go vote!

No comments: