Follow Us


December 31, 2010

BBA Recommends Alomar and Blyleven for Hall of Fame

As a member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA), I take great pride in having been able to participate in their Hall of Fame vote the past two years.

This year, the BBA is recommending Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven be inducting in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Here's the official word:

Alomar, who is on the ballot for his second year, and Blyleven, looking at his fourteenth time, both finished just shy of the BBA's recommendation in 2010 at just a fraction under the 75% threshold. As was the case last year, both Alomar and Blyleven received the same amount of votes from the BBA membership in 2010, but this time it was enough to push them into the recommended status.

Both players received 117 votes out of the 154 ballots cast, resulting in a 75.97% approval rate. Again echoing the vote taken at the end of 2009, shortstop Barry Larkin was the third man in the balloting, missing selection by being named on just 70.78% of the ballots.

And since everyone else on the web is throwing their own theoretical picks out there, here are mine (along with links to their Hall of Fame capsules from this site)...Roberto Alomar, Jeff Bagwell, Harold Baines, Barry Larkin, Fred McGriff, Tim Raines and Lee Smith.

Last year, I left Raines off the pretend ballot, but after plenty of discussion...I've come around.  Honestly, I'm almost there for Mark McGwire as well.

Unfortunately, I still can't get behind Blyleven.  Sorry, gang.

Take a gander at the complete press release from the BBA and check out how all 33 players fared in the vote by clicking HERE.

No comments: