Follow Us


August 3, 2011

Nick Swisher...Recording Artist

You always hear that all muscians want to be athletes and all athletes want to be musicians.

Think about many times have you seen Garth Brooks swinging a bat during Spring Training or NBA players trying their hand at the rap game?

Answer. Countless.

Now, you can add Nick Swisher to that list.

But, you won't see the New York Yankees outfielder hitting the rock stages a la former Cy Young award winners Barry Zito and Jack McDowell anytime soon.

Swisher has made a kid's record.

Say what?

“I had an absolute blast working on this project, but I couldn’t have done it without having a true pro as my producer, Loren Harriet,” said Swisher in a press release, um, released Tuesday. “I have a tremendous amount of respect for all of the talented artists and musicians that performed on this album, but most of all I want to thank the kids. They sound amazing and I’m honored just to have been given this opportunity.”

And whom, do you ask, might have helped out? I'm glad you said something.

Here's this from that same press release mentioned above.

On “Believe,” Swisher is joined in the recording studio by an all-star band of musicians including drummer Kenny Aronoff (John Mellencamp, Melissa Etheridge), bassist Leland Sklar (James Taylor, Phil Collins), guitarist Tim Pierce (Goo Goo Dolls, Michael Jackson) and keyboardist Matt Rollings (Tim McGraw, Lyle Lovett). Special musical guests playing guitar on the album include former New York Yankee and Latin GRAMMY Nominee, Bernie Williams and San Francisco Giants pitcher, Barry Zito.

Also accompanying Nick on the album is a group of talented kids ages eight to thirteen years old who sing backup vocals on each song. Included are kids from the nationally acclaimed music education franchise, “School Of Rock” as well as thirteen-year-old Natalie Prieb, granddaughter of Major League Baseball Commissioner, Bud Selig.

So, yeah, there you have it...Nick Swisher made a kid's record and you, yes you, can get it via digital download starting August 9.

Here's the obligatory track listing from "Believe".

1. Heroes
2. I Won’t Back Down
3. Where The Green Grass Grows
4. Lean On Me
5. With A Little Help From My Friends
6. Everyday People
7. Proud Mary
8. Take Me Home, Country Roads
9. Joy To The World
10. Hang On Sloopy
11. Jumpin Jack Flash
12. Believe

1 comment:

Anonymous said...