Follow Us


January 9, 2013

And Your Cooperstown Class of 2013 is...

Not sure about the rest of you, but I've been waiting for this year's Hall of Fame announcement for, well, the past five years.
With all the news surrounding PED use and the "did he" or "didn't he" or "when did he start" or whatever...I think it's pretty fair to concede that this year's election is, probably, the biggest one we've seen in our lifetime.
With that said, there was still an announcement Wednesday afternoon and, suffice it to say, it was memorable.
So, on July 28, for only the eighth time in history, no one will be enshrined as part of the Class of 2013 along with umpire Hank O’Day, former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19thCentury star Deacon White...all of whom were elected by the Pre-Integration Era Committee in December.

Craig Biggio and his 3000-plus hits fell just 39 votes short...collecting 68%.

Here's the break down among the top vote getters.

Craig Biggio (68.2%, first time on ballot)
Jack Morris (67.7%, 66.7% in 2012)
Jeff Bagwell (59.6%, 56.0%)
Mike Piazza (57.8%, first time on ballot)
Tim Raines (52.2%, 48.7%)
Lee Smith (47.8%, 50.6%)
Curt Schilling (38.8%, first time on ballot)
Roger Clemens (37.6%, first time on ballot)
Barry Bonds (36.2%, first time on ballot)
Edgar Martinez (35.9%, 36.5%)
Alan Trammell (33.6%, 36.8%)

Before this year's crop of first timers hit the ballot, the highest profile Hall-worthy players branded with the scarlett "S" for steroids were  Mark McGwire and Rafael Palmeiro.  Suffice it to say...they didn't gain much ground in 2013.  McGwire (19.5% in 2012) garnered 16.9% this year, while  Palmeiro (12.6% last year) earned 8.8%.

In his 15th and final year on the ballot, Dale Murphy saw some awesome support via social media and online, but fell short with just 18.6% of the vote.

A complete breakdown of the 2013 Hall of Fame selection is on the way...believe it! And for a look at the 2013 ballot (by the numbers) HERE!

To see how actual numbers stacked up against the much hyped 2013 Hall of Fame Ballot Collecting HERE.

No comments: